This Article Solved My Issue

Turn on and use privacy tools in Recruiting

Describes how admins can use Privacy Tools and delete candidate data in bulk. By default, Privacy Tools are already turned on for all Recruiting customers.

This article is for administrators.

 

Use Privacy tools in Recruiting to manage candidate consent for remarketing, delete candidate data in bulk, and update individual candidate privacy settings. These tools can help support your organization's privacy and data retention requirements. 

Request candidate remarketing authorization from candidates 

When this feature is turned on, an additional question is added to the end of all candidate applications. This allows candidates to authorize remarketing communications. 

Prerequisite: You must be an administrator on the Recruiting account to do this task. 

  1. Go to People > Hiring > Applicant Tracking to open the Recruiting platform.  
  2. Select Admin, then select the Privacy tab. 
  3. In the Candidate Remarketing - Applications section, select the Request Authorization to Remarket on Applications button. 
  4. Select Save
     
  5. When this feature is turned on, an extra question is added to the end of all applications, as shown below: 

Delete candidate data in bulk 

Important 

  • Deleting candidate is permanent and cannot be undone. 
  • You cannot delete candidate data that is less than one year old. 
  • Review your selection carefully before deleting data. 
  • You must be an administrator on the Recruiting account to do this task.  

Steps 

  1. Select Admin, then select the Privacy tab. 
  2. In the Bulk Candidate Deletion section, choose the parameters of candidate data you want to delete. 
  3. Select Delete Candidates
  4. In the Delete Multiple Candidates pop-up window, confirm the deletion of candidates by typing DELETE and then selecting DELETE X CANDIDATES
     

Note: It is important to regularly purge candidate information that is older than your organization's retention timeframe. 

Change a candidate's privacy settings or export candidate data 

Admins and Staffing Users can update a candidate's contact preferences and export candidate data when needed. 

  1. Open the candidate's record. 
  2. Select the Candidate Info icon. 
  3. Select the Privacy Tools tab. 
  4. Update the candidate's opt-in or opt-out status for Do Not Contact, Text Messaging, and/or Candidate Remarketing as needed. 
     
  5. In the corresponding privacy setting’s confirmation pop-up window, confirm the action. 
     

Note: Certain laws may require employers to provide individuals with their personal information upon request. The Candidate Data Export includes all information related to a candidate, including all comments, regardless of privacy settings. 

For more information, refer to Privacy tools frequently asked questions (FAQ).   


 

Updated: August 28th, 2026 5525 views


*This content is for educational purposes only, is not intended to provide specific legal advice, and should not be used as a substitute for the legal advice of a qualified attorney or other professional. The information may not reflect the most current legal developments, may be changed without notice and is not guaranteed to be complete, correct, or up-to-date.

Give feedback about this article
Give feedback about this article
Our articles update frequently. Please be aware of this before printing.
Back to Top ↑