This article is for administrators and staffing users with access.
Privacy Tools provide a set of features that can help you comply with various privacy laws, including the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), which governs the protection, transfer, and retention of personal data.
Note: We cannot advise on the specifics of GDPR or any other privacy laws. If you have questions or concerns regarding these laws, we advise you to seek guidance from your legal counsel.
Related Articles
Who can use privacy tools?
Only administrators can enable Candidate Remarketing or delete candidates in bulk.
Candidate Remarketing Authorization: When the Request Authorization to Remarket on Applications feature is enabled, an additional question is added to the application.
Bulk Candidate Deletion: In some cases, candidate data must be stored only for a reasonable time. Candidate information that exceeds a specific timeframe must be regularly purged. Using the Bulk Candidate Deletion tool, you can remove multiple candidate records based on certain criteria.

Both administrators and staffing users can enable the available privacy tool features on the candidate profile from the candidate info popover screen.
Do Not Contact: Candidates might have the right to request no further contact from your company. This feature enables administrators and staffing users to flag candidates as Do Not Contact, which obscures the candidates' contact details in the places where they appear.
Text Messaging: Candidates are required to give written consent before companies can send them text messages. If you have text messaging enabled, this setting will automatically switch on if the candidate opts in to receiving text messages during the application process. If later, the candidate no longer wants to be contacted via text, this option would allow you to turn off that functionality for the individual.
Candidate Remarketing: Candidates have the right to require authorization to use their information for anything other than the purpose they initially provided it for. If a candidate has specified during the application stage that they do not wish to be contacted about other positions, they will be automatically flagged as “Do Not Remarket”. If the Request Authorization to Remarket on Applications option is enabled, this feature allows for easy modification of a candidate's preferences.
Candidate Data Export: Companies must provide people with their personal information upon request in a reasonable timeframe. Candidate Data Export enables administrators to download all data relating to a candidate directly from the Candidate Info Popover.
Additional Privacy settings and security
Recruiting has built-in security to help protect Hiring Manager and candidate information.
Default Access Rules
By default:
- Standard users can only see job details and candidate information for jobs they are assigned to.
- Standard users cannot see employees who apply for internal jobs unless they are assigned to that job.
Additional Access Controls
If you need more control over access, you can turn on the following security settings.
Make a Job Confidential
A confidential job limits visibility to assigned users.
- Only users assigned to the job can view it as an active job in Recruiting.
- This setting helps keep sensitive positions private.
- For more information, refer to Create a Confidential Job.
Turn On Candidate Hiding
We do not recommend enabling candidate hiding.
When enabled, this setting hides all candidates from Standard Users unless they are assigned to the same job as the candidate.
This setting makes significant changes to system behavior:
-
The Other Jobs tab on the home page is disabled.
- Users see a message stating they do not have permission to view the information.
-
The Candidate Breakdown page for Other jobs displays no data.
- Users see a message stating they do not have permission to view the information.
- Standard Users cannot access the All Data analytics report.
These changes prevent Standard Users from:
- Assigning candidates to other jobs.
- Assigning other candidates to their own jobs.
If a new Standard User is created and is not assigned to any jobs:
-
All Recruiting content is blocked when the user signs in.
- privacy tools in recruiting for candidate privacy
- admin privacy tools
- staffing users privacy tools
- candidate privacy in recruiting
- privacy tools
- data privacy
- candidate privacy
- do no contact
- candidate remarketing
- remarketing authorization
- candidate data export
- export candidate data
- bulk candidate deletion
- delete candidate records
- privacy compliance
- data retention
- candidate information
- privacy features
Updated: August 28th, 2026 5026 views 0 likes
*This content is for educational purposes only, is not intended to provide specific legal advice, and should not be used as a substitute for the legal advice of a qualified attorney or other professional. The information may not reflect the most current legal developments, may be changed without notice and is not guaranteed to be complete, correct, or up-to-date.